"Nomen est omen"

This programme pays tribute to the ensemble’s name and includes works by François Couperin’s collections Les Nations and Les Gouts-réünies. As the name of the ensemble also stands for the fact that all members originate from different countries and are now spread in different cities across Europe, we have added to this programme a selection of pieces by Austrian, Swedish, English and French composers of the late 17th and 18th century.

Jaques-Martin Hotteterre                   Sixième Sonate en trio, in G major
(1674-1763)                                    Prelude-Fugue-Grave-Vivement

Francois Couperin                             Les Goûts-réünis, Neuvième Concert, Ritratto 
(1668-1733)                                    dell´amore
                                                     Le charme - L’enjoüement - Les Graces - 
                                                     La Noble Fierté - La Douceur -
                                                     L’et Cœtera ou Menuets

Gottlieb Muffat                                 Componimenti Musicali per il Cembalo, Suite in D major
(1690-1770)                                    Fantaisie grave - Rigaudon bizarre - Air affetuoso - 
                                                     Finale spiritoso


Johann Helmich Roman                       Sonata a Tré in g minor
(1694-1758)                                     Largo-Allegro-Andante-Presto assai

- Interval - 


Georg Friedrich Händel                       Sonate in e minor Op.1, Nr.1b, HWV 359b
(1685-1759)                                    Grave-Allegro-Adagio-Allegro


Carl Friedrich Abel                             Sonata II for Viola da Gamba solo
(1723-1787)                                     Allegro


Francois Couperin                             Les Nations: La Piémontoise
(1668-1733)                                    Sonade - Allemande - Courante - Seconde Courante -
                                                     Sarabande - Rondeau-Gigue